Saturday, September 21, 2013

Enjoy your coffee and don't be judgmental.

I am having my coffee and was simultaneously reading up on Deepika Padukone. Because I wanted to know about her fitness regime and generally laze away and not read something intellectual for a change.

Ha! The above is wrong on so many levels that I wont get into now.

That got me thinking that we have so many stereotypes around us and we actually cosy upto be judgmental about anything and everything. about them. Lets rant away together and take those big feet out of our mouths now! DO let me know if you agree with it or not and I shall duly note them down .Ha! (again) ;)

1. Reading / watching celebrities is for lazy asses and people who have no aim in life

- so what if we delve into stardom in our own ways ? Its such a sight for sore eyes when I see PeeCee at exotic locations and surfing away in blue waters which probably cannot be photoshopped. Enjoy the view even if you do want to be selective. I mean you are in India. You cannot escape the obvious, that is films and cricket.

2. Anybody other than friends and family are suddenly to be suspected/to be arrogant upon.

- we talk a lot about serendipity and love watching strangers falling in love in movies. Ask yourself, have you ever smiled warmly at a stranger? Ok even if you did, do you ever reply back to their friendly attempt to know more about you even if it is a 20 min bus ride? Then all our sense of adventure fails and we are no different form the forlone plants we see on roadside which everyone sees but no one cares about. we have all become similar faces in the crowd.

3. We say we are in Kalyug. What is the opposite of it?and have you ever lived in that to compare between both?

- We keep saying 'our generation is gone for a toss... We are losers....' How exactly? Some of the best inventions are,were and being done in our times. We have almost everything to call a comfortable life. These couldn't have been achieved without brains right? Yes, if you say we are not happy that is not the entire population but some people only and such evil beings are there in every family,country,group,age and times.

4. Marriage is it. 'She is married ,she is done'

- is marriage the end of a tunnel or a pt in which you fall accidentally? Its neither and inspite of all the Mr.andMrs jokes doing the rounds of Whatsapp and Facebook all people ,both single and otherwise know as a fact that it is just a phase of life. Like getting a pimple and it going,getting the school pass certificate and school ending,every phase in life comes and goes. It brings changes along with it which is natural and also maturity along with it to deal with its own set of issues and topics.
Worse is when we take for granted other relationships just because someone is married. Sometimes its the best friend of the new Mrs. who assumes she will be sidetracked or the sibling of the husband who feels he may have to leave home. You know,when we wish luck for newly weds ,we should probably wish we remain the same around them!
Also its your choice to be married,single,yellow,dirty,pony tailed or whatever.

I know there are many...and while I finish my coffee please do throw some stereotypes here. Remember,this ain't Kalyug and you gotta shed your inhibitions since I ain't a stranger anymore :)


Monday, September 9, 2013

Two and a half mind

How does one respond to gays and gay matters?

At one end is the virtuous me trying to fit in an imaginary social circle where all are cool with this whole gay uprising. In group chats and conversations even my Android phone autocoorects dazed mind to gay. I just nod imaginably to some of my friends  who say people have a right to live as they want. To which my life is always autocorrected. I'm all for that.

So why do I have a dazed mind? Why aren't I so gay about this whole thing...yet?

Somewhere we become old fashioned. We run to the safety of our known behaviour to unknown developments and news. We cannot imagine attending a wedding where there is no gown and pink satin. We have to bitch about the bride's flawless makeup and sly comment on the groom's job. Two men holding hands is viewed as Paes and Stepanek winning the US Open Doubles or the eve teasers in gallis of small towns who ride on a bike and the pillion fellow hugs the rider to show girls in yellow salwar kameez how desirable he can be. Indian culture is that. Even sitting on our commodes we practice pathetic flirting...with the opposite sex. And by the way even girls do that. Otherwise gay is standardly referred to the designers who bring all the latest styles in Fall/Rain/Sunny/Cloudy seasons. Apparently the new stereotype in the market is that these 'kind of people' have better creative aesthetics than anyone else.

Then I have friends who totally support gays. And because I'm always trying to fit in ,whether it is with intellectual friends or in a M size dress, I nod along.

Personally (There goes the disclaimer ) , I believe that each person whether gay,straight,single,religious, puny,street vendor, bungee jumper or Mallika Sherawat have a right to live as they want. As long as :

a) you don't hurt your loved ones' sentiments.
b) you are 100% sure of your decision.
c) you don't have to hide it till you die.

And that's what I really I wanna say. If as a gay you are a better human being than straight people then who am I to judge you?