Thursday, March 28, 2013

Living with parents

Conversation between 2 women. One the kind that is very close to hubby and thinks rest of the world is invisible...SatiSavitri . The other lady still getting a grip on the world and generally likes to observe...Binocular.
 Location - wherever there are 2 chairs

SatiSavitri - So how are you enjoying the new married life?

Binocular - Ok. Lots of new people and customs. But easy to get a grip as in-laws are with us. My parents are anyways here too.

SS - What do you do in your free time?

B - At home or friends. Read..and...

SS - Hey where all did you go with your hubby?

B - Still have to get around going out together.

SS - There is a great restaurant which has couple specials most weekends. Let me see which area is it.

B - Well... in that case both parents can come too...It will be..

SS - Are you not tired of living with first your parents and then in-laws now?

B - not really...I mean I was studying in different cities as my parents were in army hospital jobs,so I kinda knew a life with them. I had my freedom so no one messed with anyone.

SS - Eeeek. Im so glad me and him are alone. Phew! House is as we want.

B - such as?

SS - You know...like we have our minibar and loud music playing whenever we want.

B - I have my Ipod.

SS - Hurummpmhh! Have you checked the Sony speakers?

B - You know we have just started our lives,so me and hubby are looking at expenditure one thing at a time.

SS - You gotta enjoy life for a while. Don't tell me you will pop a baby in a year.

B - Ain't they God's gift?

SS - *touches forehead*  Am sure that dialogue came from an aunt or mother in law?

B - All mothers say the same. But its k. I guess parents are all like that.

SS - and thats why we have our minibar

B - Yeah and we have fun evenings! :)

Courtesy - my friend Deepa and her experience.

Tuesday, March 26, 2013

Another lesson on 'maturity'

So one of my fav actresses died today. RIP Sukumari.
No, this post is not a tribute to her.... just a thought on the reaction usually seen when fans express their sorrow at something happening to their star.
My friend,though,not straightaway,mocked my brief gloom at the news. I did not cry bucketlodas but felt blue nonetheless. I admire her work and really felt Malayalam cinema suffered a loss. Cliche words but thats how I felt.
But why is it so odd that a person far far away from a star is not allowed to genuinely express their feelings. Especially someone who is not in the 'hormonal age' where it is perfectly acceptable to go gaga or cheechee over their fav stars? I mean,people like me,a mom and well in the 20's- what?..I cannot still like Katy Perry and go gaga when Blake Shelton retweets my tweet (not done yet,still hoping)?
 Of all the discrimination a person has to suffer during his lifetime here,one of the most subtle is this : 'Act your age.You are above 25 you can't follow SRK in twitter!'


The coming-of-age Mom


Babies can be inspiring.

We look up to our elders,teachers,quote dot com and neighbourhood chacha for guidance and seldom apply it. Watch babies and relish in the simplicity of what you can learn from them.

Me and hubby,the brand new parents,recently went on a spending spree and first got a JCB to plow a hole a field in our pockets. Which resulted in a lot of toys,branded baby clothes,baby bags and did you know you get a feel-good-factor when your tot pees on branded mat too?

So after we redid our room so that it looked like a mini kindergarten, I made sure my little angel would play with the toys,run around the yellow-red room ,I can continue to facebook and that in his smiles I will get the ROI of whatever we spent. #Materialistic mother

However,after some days when the trailor wore off and I realized I will not make it to the Oscars for Best Mom-for-increasing-sales-of-MadeInChina-Fisher toys, I was mildly confused. The eternal question haunting moms since the stone age- why do they keep crying?

It's like a stone age itself to understand why. Comes not with books on babies or 10-ways-to-be-a-superb mom dot com.

It takes just an empty earring box or the lid of the old oats tin to make them happy. They are not impressed by your branded Fisher toy or the softest of fabric which covers them. It doesn’t matter if you have spend thousands on a cradle for them and what?!.... they are not going to sweet slumber on it. Materialism is far from the simple mind of a baby. Brands,tags,price lists,currencies,packaging and the crap with which our decisions are guided are like a whiff of air for them. Pooof!.... and gone!

All they need is you. Your time and attention. Undivided. So I’m logging off now!


Pic courtesy - www.zazzle.com